Cyprus

When I went: April 2015

I went to Cyprus for my best friend’s wedding.  She had picked Paphos which I thought was an excellent choice.  The resort offered loads of hotel options at different prices. I went with a girl I used to be friends with and we flew with Jet 2 Holidays from Glasgow.

We stayed just along from Paphos in a self catering apartment called Panareti Resort.  It was small and quiet which is just what we needed.  Paphos is not a party resort so if you are after that Aiya Napa is more for you.

As it was April the weather was a hit or miss so we spent the first day exploring the resort centre.  There was plenty of restaurants to choose from and loads of shops selling clothes, fakes and tourist souvenirs. Me and my friend decided we both wanted a fake Michael Korrs so were on the hunt.

No automatic alt text available.We were reeled in by the companies selling tours along the harbour front and decided on a
boat tour for 50EUR.  We were collected from our hotel and spent the day on board a yacht.  We received a lunch and spotted at snorkeling spots, there was also the bonus of unlimited alcohol.  We were the youngest on the boat so had to watch how we behaved.  I would definitely recommend taking a boat tour of the island, this is the day we got the most sun.

I had heard about a zoo so we decided to take a trip there, it was mainly a bird park but it was good to do for the day if the weather isn’t great.  They have a tiger show where you can pet/feed a baby white tiger and buy a picture.

We only went drinking 1 night in Paphos.  There really isn’t a lot of bars or clubs, the bar we did visit was small and rather empty.

My best friend’s wedding was beautiful. The hotel she stayed in was Hotel Annabelle just down the main road towards Paphos.  They did an excellent job on the wedding and provided a great day for my friend. We had perfect weather so had pristine photos. The food was superb and they gave us loads of different courses.

Verdict: I really like Paphos.  I feel it is a family, older couple destination though.  I would not visit again anytime soon but maybe once I’ve settled down in the future. Go back? In the far future. 

Leave a Reply

